Classifications of Living Things

Classifications of Living ThingsSub Topic
Interesting Facts about the Human Body
Plant Facts for kids

In science, the practice of classifications of living things is known as taxonomy (Nomos means method and taxis signifies arrangement). The contemporary taxonomic system had been developed by the Swedish botanist Carolus (Carl) Linneaeus (1707-1788). He employed simple physical characteristics of organisms to identify and differentiate between various species and is dependent around genetics.

Linneaeus produced a hierarchy of teams for taxonomy. To distinguish various levels of similarity, every classifying group, known as taxon (pl. taxa) is subdivided into other teams. To keep in mind the order, it is useful to use a mnemonic device. The taxa in hierarchical order:


Kingdom - Animals, Plants, Protists, Fungi, Archaebacteria and Eubacteria (Monera)

Domain - Eubacteria, Archea, Eukaryote







Classification of Living Things for Kids

Biological Classification is the method scientists use to organize and categorize all of life. It can assistance to distinguish how different or similar living organisms are to one another.

An example of Classification living things

Biological classification works somewhat like the library does. In the library books are split up into specific areas. The children books in one section, the teenager books in another section and the grownup books in another. Within all of those sections, you will see more divisions such as non-fiction, fiction. In those sections you will see even more divisions including science fiction, mystery and romance novels in the fiction section. Lastly you will get down to a single book.

Classification of Living Things for Kids: You can find some main levels of classification: Phylum, Kingdom and Order. The 2 main kingdoms we think about are animals and plants. Scientists additionally list four other kingdoms such as archaebacteria, bacteria, protozoa and fungi. Occasionally an eighth level above the Kingdom known as the Domain is used.

Levels of Classification of Living Things

Levels of classification of living things are:





Phylum puts organisms in a more specific group than Kingdom. Animals are grouped together based on similarities in basic body plan or organization. There are many Phylum groups in each Kingdom.

The group kingdom, includes all living organisms and species. There are 5 different groups within Kingdom that organisms are placed in.

Order puts them in a general group of what they are, like the group turtle, which including all turtles.

Class: In this classification group, class, divides organisms into groups like mammals and reptiles.  

History of Classification of Living Things

Greater than millions of species of living organisms have been described and discovered up to now and a lot of them are yet to be found. Scientists involved in this job, known as taxonomists, estimate that there could be around 30 million species of living organisms of which the recognized number of species forms a really small percentage.

History of classification of living things is probably as old as human civilization. Organisms have been arranged on different basis at various periods of time. The first classification was probably on the foundation of utility to man. Animals and plants were classified on various basis including non-edible and edible ones, harmful and useful ones and so on.

7 Levels of Classification of Living Things

The seven levels of classification of living things are: Phylum, Kingdom, Order, Class, Genus, Family and Species.

Classification for Humans

7 Levels of Classification of Living Things

Here is an example of how Human beings are classified. You will see that the species is homo sapiens.

Phylum: Chordata

Kingdom: Animalia

Class: Mammalia

Family: Hominidae

Order: Primates

Genus: Homo

Species: Homo sapiens

Fun ways to Keep Biological Classification in mind

A great way to remember lists is always to make up a sentence making use of the first letters in a list. In this instance we want to remember Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus and Species: K, P, C, O, F, G, S.

The Five Kingdoms of Living Things

Every living creature on the planet belongs to a kingdom. Scientists debate the number of kingdoms there are, however most agree there are five. Here is the five kingdoms of living things.


Protists are mainly single-celled organisms who have a nucleus. They generally live in water. Some protists move around, While some stay in one place.


Monera are single-celled organisms that do not possess a nucleus. Bacteria constitute the entire kingdom. You can find more forms of bacteria than any other organism on the planet.


Plants include chlorophyll, a green pigment required for photosynthesis, a process where plants convert energy from natural light into food. Their cell walls are created sturdy by a material known as cellulose and they are set in one place.


Animals are the most complicated organisms on Earth. Animals are multi-celled organisms, consume food for survival and have nervous systems. They are separated into invertebrates and vertebrates.


Fungi are often motionless organisms that soak up nutrients for survival. They contain molds, yeasts and mushrooms.